report scam here

Go Back   scams > Internet Scams

Internet Scams This forum is for the discussion of internet scams and for victims to share their stories.

If you think this information is untrue or false report, please contact me by email, i will remove it immediately. Email: scamfound@gmail.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 08:58 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default Montclair Who’s Who Registry

I've been planning on doing this post for some time, but putting it off because it involved a lot of research. What tipped me over the line?
I received an e-mail around a month from Montclair who's who .( Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals )

After going online and filling the application, I received an email that someone was going to call me to get details for my biography. Someone called rose left many messages on my office voicemail. Then today, Friday march 05, she called me again and said she needs to make by biography as soon as possible because they were closing the last details for the book. I called and she starts asking me questions about my college and work background. After 30 minutes of questions and she praising me for my great achievements, then she said that she have decided to submit my information to be published. She told me the same crap that someone mentioned about them having 200,000 members and how good this will be for my career.

I was happy because I thought was quite an accomplishment, but then the scam started. She told me about the membership plans. One is called the platinum and the other gold. The first one costs $800!!!! and the second $550 or so. The first one is a lifetime membership and the second a 5 years. in addition to be in the list, receive a CD, a certificate and all that crap, that if pay for the platinum I will also receive a voucher for an American Airline ticket.

I stopped her and said that if I have to pay for be part of any list then I do not want to be part of that. Also, it is very hard for anyone to give away $800 just like that. Then she offered me a $99 plan that will have me in the list for only 1 year but I will receive the certificate. At the end she said that I needed to visit the following web page: Montclair Who's Who - elite registry Montclair Publishing, LLC. to complete my information and appeared in the basic-free list. I tried to enter the page and the server was down.

I rejected all offers and never gave any credit card or checking account info.

Please do not fall for this scam. I have been very successful in my career and I have find great job opportunities without paying a nickel. It is a shame that they use a University name for this scam. I feel sorry for that Rose. It has to be so sad to work in a place that you know is a scam.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
REPAIR REGISTRY 2008 - Undelivered download Complaintsboard.com Complaints Board RSS Feed 0 05-14-2010 04:11 PM
P C Tools - Registry Mechanic - Automatic renewal Complaintsboard.com Complaints Board RSS Feed 0 01-12-2010 06:10 PM
Sammsoft Advanced Registry Optimizer - did not order Complaintsboard.com Complaints Board RSS Feed 0 01-04-2010 10:00 PM
DRI Registry Medic - Unauthorised billing Complaintsboard.com Complaints Board RSS Feed 0 01-04-2010 01:52 PM
Registry Patrol - Registry Patrol Complaintsboard.com Complaints Board RSS Feed 0 01-02-2010 11:40 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.